A Day in the Life of a Postdoc: Emily

To celebrate Ada Lovelace Day, we each documented what our lives as women in STEM looked like on Oct 6th, 2015. My day through my eyes is below; not too dissimilar from Anna and Stephanie.

But first I want to reflect on what I like about being a scientist. The cyclic part of science is my favorite part. From my experience thus far I go through phases of science. First, you get to read the literature and come up with questions and hypotheses. Then you plan an experiment which can often take thoughtful logistics. Next, do an experiment or observe your data, taking careful measurements. Experiments can be exhausting but in a nice way because you know this is the part where you generate new data. My favorite part of science is probably analyzing data. While it takes a while and can often be frustrating, when you start understanding your results it’s such a great feeling that you have learned something new that others don’t yet know. Finally, it’s time to write the paper and share what you learned. This process should naturally lead to new questions, a new lit search, and new hypotheses. The reason I like the cycle is that usually by the time I’m getting tired of one phase, it is time to move to the next phase. In that way, it’s never boring; even if my days are spent mostly with a computer.

5am- I don't need an alarm clock because my sweet kitties get me up for their breakfast every morning. This scene repeats for first (6pm) and second (9pm) dinner every day.
5am- I don’t need an alarm clock because my sweet kitties get me up for their breakfast every morning. This scene repeats for first (6pm) and second (9pm) dinner every day.
6am- I'm putting renewed effort into my health and doing Tracy Anderson workouts before work each day. Feels great before a long day of sitting.
6am- I’m putting renewed effort into my health and doing Tracy Anderson workouts before work each day. Feels great before a long day of sitting.
7am- Breakfast and work. Usually I just catch up on Twitter and download neat papers that people tweet about; however, today I worked on the network analysis that appeared with our WildlifeSNPits blogiversary post.
7am- Breakfast and work. Usually I just catch up on Twitter and download neat papers that people tweet about; however, today I worked on the network analysis that appeared with our WildlifeSNPits blogiversary post.
8-9am- Commuting to work. For the past 10 years I have either walked, biked, or used public transit to get to work. Currently, I walk to the train station, then take the Ram Van up to the Louis Calder Center.
8-9am- Commuting to work. For the past 10 years I have either walked, biked, or used public transit to get to work. Currently, I walk to the train station, then take the Ram Van up to the Louis Calder Center.
10am- Getting to work installing a RAID array for the lab and catching up on lab news through the group chat.
10am- Getting to work installing a RAID array for the lab and catching up on lab news through the group chat.
11am- Typical day: working in the terminal, reading Stackoverflow to troubleshoot a problem, and opening a manuscript to keep the writing going.
11am- Typical day: working in the terminal, reading Stackoverflow to troubleshoot a problem, and opening a manuscript to keep the writing going.
1pm- Too much sitting, so I went for a walk around the field station for some fresh air. Ended up on the dock of the lake. Love all the chipmunks and deer and milkweed at Calder Center.
1pm- Too much sitting, so I went for a walk around the field station for some fresh air. Ended up on the dock of the lake. Love all the chipmunks and deer and milkweed at Calder Center.
2-5pm- Pretty much looks like this: coding, writing, reading!
2-5pm- Pretty much looks like this: coding, writing, reading!
6pm- Headed home on the Ram Van. Love the Upstate scenery. Kensico Reservoir pictured
6pm- Headed home on the Ram Van. Love the Upstate scenery. Kensico Reservoir pictured
7pm- Not a typical day but tonight I baked a cake to celebrate WildlifeSNPits 2nd blogiversary! Just getting started with my messy mise-en-place.
7pm- Not a typical day but tonight I baked a cake to celebrate WildlifeSNPits 2nd blogiversary! Just getting started with my messy mise-en-place.
9pm- Cake baked, iced, and marzipan petals cut out. Ready to assemble, photoshoot, and finish blog post.
9pm- Cake baked, iced, and marzipan petals cut out. Ready to assemble, photoshoot, and finish blog post.
10pm- I have a strict bed time, helps keep me friendly and energized the next day. But first cuddle time with the kitties.
10pm- I have a strict bed time, helps keep me friendly and energized the next day. But first cuddle time with the kitties.
2 Comments Add yours

Leave a Reply

