Welcome to WildlifeSNPits

Welcome to our blog: WildlifeSNPits! We aim to blog at the intersection of conservation and evolution. Each of our writers works in these two fields while varying in degrees, with some more focused on conservation and others evolution. Our primary aim is to discuss contemporary issues in conservation and evolution along with comments on science outreach, education, and policy as well.

Without further ado, we are:

Emily Puckett
EmilySculptureSeattle2
I am a PhD student at the University of Missouri studying the population genetics and phylogeography of the American black bear (Ursus americanus). My evolutionary interests relate to population-level diversity in functional traits and how that diversity varies over geographic space. My conservation interests center around the trade (both legal and illegal) of wildlife goods and how international policies and the luxury goods industry effect trade volume and the species involved.
Find me on: Twitter || My Blog || Google Scholar

Stephanie Schuttler
StephSchuttlerPhoto
My research interests revolve broadly around topics in animal behavior, molecular ecology, movement ecology, and the natural history of mammals. I am especially interested in research with conservation or management implications, and particularly on endangered and threatened species. My postdoctoral work at the University of Missouri involved several projects on raccoon disease ecology and social behavior in Missouri. My dissertation research also at the University of Missouri focused on understanding the social structure of African forest elephants in Gabon using non-invasive genetics, satellite telemetry, and social network models. I also have strong interests in science education, communication, and outreach to the general public.
Find me on: Twitter || My Website

Alexandra Sutton
ASutton
I’m a doctoral student in Duke University’s University Program in Ecology, working on predator conservation in East Africa in the lab of Dr. Stuart Pimm. As a city girl-turned-conservation biologist, most of my interests involve the human-wildlife interface, with a particular focus on finding sustainable solutions that let humans and large predators share a landscape. Right now, I study lions (Panthera leo), and my current project evaluates the usefulness of predator-proof livestock fencing in mitigating pastoralist-lion conflict in the Maasai Mara region of Kenya. To understand the problem and check out some potential solutions, I’ll be in and out of the field in Kenya, working with a National Geographic grantee, the Anne K. Taylor Fund. I’m a former policy wonk, current science communications nerd, Howard University alum (HU!), lazy blogger at A Lion’s Life For Me, owner of an extremely cute Shiba Inu, and (very) amateur surfer.
Find me on: Facebook || Google Scholar || Mendeley || Twitter || Duke’s Website || My Blog

Schyler Nunziata
SNunziataPhoto
I am a PhD student at the University of Kentucky studying temporal population genetics of Ambystoma salamanders in response to environmental change. My research interests encompass aspects of ecology, genetics, and conservation. My current dissertation work focuses on developing demographic and genetic models to understand the evolutionary dynamics of salamander populations. By combining long-term demographic data with temporal genetic sampling, I hope to gain insight into the relationship between census size and effective population size. Ultimately, I am interested in using genetic techniques to understand important demographic parameters for population management.
Find me on: Twitter || Weisrock Lab

Leave a Reply

